ACT together, we go far!

Happy New Year 2018!

Greeting message from President Mau-Chung Frank Chang

May the holiday spirit fill you with warmth, health and happiness!
May the new year of 2018 bring you satisfaction, fulfillment and much success!

National Chiao Tung University sends you her best wishes and shares with you the newest achievements.

President, NCTU


In today’s higher education, the importance of innovation and technology cannot be overemphasized. The rapid advancement in microelectronics and wireless communication along with precision machining and robotics facilitated the fast growth of smart devices and artificial intelligence. National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) located in Taiwan along with the Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC) have both received global recognition as the most productive research institute and the most innovative manufacturing institute, respectively, in the semiconductor field, according to the recent Clarivate Analytics 2017 Report.

Birds’ eye view of the National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) campus

Following a great tradition, faculty members of NCTU have continuously enjoyed international recognition with prestigious honors and awards. For example, Prof. Simon Sze was honored with the 2017 most celebrated member of the IEEE Electron Device Society (EDS) for his invention of floating gate memory while Prof. Frank Chang was bestowed with the most prestigious J.J. Thomson Medal of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) for electronics. Moreover, two NCTU members, Prof. Frank Chang, President of NCTU and Dr. Chin-Long Wey, Chair Professor of NCTU, were selected as the 2015 and 2017 Fellow of National Academy of Inventors (NAI), respectively.

President Chang received J.J. Thomson Medal for Achievement in Electronics of IET.

From left to right: Nick Winser (IET President), Frank Chang (President of NCTU),
and Angela Lamont (Host of the Achievement Awards Ceremony).

Dr. Chin-Long Wey, Chair Professor of NCTU, was selected as
2017 Fellow of National Academy of Inventors (NAI)

NCTU prides herself in teaching and research with a comprehensive set of educational programs. The most recent addition is the International College of Semiconductor Technology in 2016. Many notable faculty members including several academicians like Prof. Chun-Yen Chang, Prof. King-Ning Tu, and Prof. Chenming Hu, as well as Prof. Haydn Chen, a Humboldt Research Awardee and an ASM-International Fellow joined the faculty with a group of outstanding international postgraduate students on board.

Another exciting news in 2017 has seen NCTU won the R&D 100 Awards with a product of CINmat, a Microwave Annealing Technology. For semiconductor applications, NCTU Formosa, a team of NCTU faculty and students, judiciously integrated Bio-IoT technologies to have developed an intelligent pest control system which won the Gold Medal, the Best Presentation, the Best Applied Design and the Best Part Collection in 2015-2017 International Genetically Engineered Machine (iGEM) global contest.

NCTU Formosa awarded with the Gold Medal in
International Genetically Engineered Machine global contest.

Besides being a pillar of global semiconductor research institute, NCTU manifests itself in diversity and creativity in many other areas by ways of recruitment and cultivation of leaders and pioneers. Professor Yuan-Pen Lee, an academician of Academia Sinica, received the 2016 Humboldt Research Award for his contribution in chemistry research. A junior faculty, Professor Ying-Hao Eddie Chu has been awarded two times in recent years to the title of Highly Cited Researchers in materials science. Professor C. David Tseng, Dean of College of Humanities and Social Sciences, has been honored with the title of “Chevalier de L'ordre des Arts et des Lettres” by Bureau Français de Taipei in 2017 due to his contributions in architecture, art, and education.

Dean Tseng was awarded with the title of
“Chevalier de L'ordre des Arts et des Lettres”.

From left to right: Frank Chang (President of NCTU), C. David Tseng (Dean of College of Humanities and Social Sciences of NCTU), M. Benoit Guidee (Director of French office in Taipei).

Prof. Yuan-Pen Lee received the "Humboldt Research Award"
of the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation.

From left to right: Helmut Schwarz (President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation), Yuan-Pen Lee (Professor of NCTU).

January 22, 2018